Thoughts & Ramblings: The Power of Music

Do you ever hear a song and instantly feel that the lyrics perfectly describe your emotions? 

It’s the power of music, through instruments, lyrics, and overall moods, to perfectly capture our current state unlike anything else. I’ve thought about it quite a bit, and to me good music relates very closely to good poetry. But, not many people like poetry as much as I, so music is often their only entrance into the poetic world. And, when they feel moved by the lyrics and instrumentation of a song, that experience is very similar if not more impactful than being moved by the words of a poem.

At this point, you might be thinking that I’m crazy, and don’t get me wrong– I am crazy. But think about it, think about a song that has moved you, either to tears, or utter joy– we all have them. We all have those songs that immediately take us out of our current state and into a new one as we emphatically say “That’s my jam!”

Okay, maybe you don’t say “that’s my jam” like I do, but that doesn’t mean you never feel that undeniable switch of emotion when a favorite song comes on. There are plenty of songs that do this for me. There are songs that make me deeply meditative like “Broadripple is Burning” by the Nuclear So and So’s. There’s songs that almost bring me to tears like “Personal” by Stars. And then there are songs that fill me with so much joy like Milo Green’s “Cutty Love”. And the fact that I don’t fully understand how or why these songs impact me so much is exactly what it feels like to be moved by poetry.

Then there are whole artists that just speak to your soul and we call those our “favorites”. For me, those are first and foremost Milo Greene and mewithoutYou, where everything they create touches me in a very real way. Now, I probably sound out of my mind by now, but if you really think about it, I’m sure you can relate. 

There is the occasional person who just doesn’t like music. And, although I might call that person insane, perhaps this is because they get this poetic connection elsewhere. Music is not the only place to find poetry, but it might be one of the closest connections out there.

What songs or artists do you feel deep connections with? Comment and let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

